University of Washington
Need help now?  Call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1.800.273.8255
Need Help Now? Call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. 1.800.273.8255



Jennifer Stuber, PhD Jen Stuber Faculty & Policy Director

Jenn is on the faculty at the University of Washington in the School of Social Work. Her teaching and research priorities are in mental health and prevention policy, building community capacity in suicide prevention, and responsible and proactive news media coverage of mental health and suicide. After losing her husband to suicide in 2011, Jenn turned her sorrow into public service by helping pass the Matt Adler Suicide Assessment, Treatment and Management Act of 2012.

*Also Forefront affiliated faculty

Jennifer Barron  Jennifer Barron  Director of Community Initiatives, Training and Forefront Cares

Prior to joining Forefront, Jennifer worked as the Deputy Director of the Youth Suicide Prevention Program (YSPP), where she supervised grassroots coalitions across the state and conducted statewide training on suicide prevention. Ms. Barron has more than 20 years of experience managing programs in support of an organizational mission.

Melissa Marsh, MSW Melissa MarshInterim Chief Operating Officer

With over 20 years of social justice, non-profit management, public policy, program development, and direct service delivery experience, Melissa was previously the Director of Programming at the IF Project - implementing reentry programming at the Washington State Women’s Prison. A vocal advocate for people with HIV/AIDS since the 1990’s, she led an innovative LGBTIQ youth program at Boulder County Public Health. She earned Boulder County PFLAG’s activist of the year award in 2011.

Shira Rosen, MSW Shira Rosen Director of School & Higher Education Programs

Formerly the executive director of Communities in Schools in Seattle, Shira joins the Forefront team with extensive school experience. She also brings a keen knowledge of fundraising, budgeting, and personnel management to her new role managing the education programs.

Aimee Chou Aimee Chou Media and Communications Specialist

An alumna of University of Washington’s Journalism program and Foster School of Business, Aimee has written for the Puget Sound Business Journal, Tri-City Herald, and Jackson Hole News & Guide. Before joining Forefront, she was a web producer in higher education vertical markets and evangelized accessibility for


Marny Lombard Marny LombardProgram Manager, Safer Homes Suicide Aware

Marny leads Washington higher education suicide prevention task force and manages organizational needs for the June 2016 higher ed conference. Since losing her college-age son to suicide, Marny has worked tirelessly for suicide prevention and depression awareness. She received Forefront’s 2015 Tina Orwell Public Service Award for her service to Forefront, Zero Suicide in Eastern Washington and related efforts.


Kristen Spexarth Kristen SpexarthProgram Specialist, Forefront Cares

Kristen coordinates Forefront Cares’ outreach to Washington state residents recently bereaved by suicide. Kristen is a poet, professional gardener, Forefront volunteer and comforter of many who have, like her, lost a loved one to suicide.

Angela SponslerAngela SponslerProgram Specialist

Prior to Forefront, Angela worked as a temporary executive assistant at Jolkona, a Seattle non-profit, and spent a couple of years in the private sector. She graduated from Goucher College in Baltimore, MD with a bachelor of arts degree in Anthropology/Sociology and Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies.

Phoebe Terhaar, CDPPhoebe TerharrSchool Coordinator, Forefront in the Schools

Phoebe serves as a Forefront liaison to six of our schools in the FIS project. She was previously the Student Assistance Prevention Coordinator at the Snoqualmie Valley School District, as well as the team lead for the Mt. Si High School's suicide prevention team.

Elaine Walsh, Ph.D., R.N.Phoebe TerharrUW Associate Professor in the Department of Psychosocial and Community Health, School of Nursing

Elaine, who has been involved with Forefront since its launch, joined the staff in Fall 2016 as a liaison to four schools in the Forefront in the Schools program. She is certified as a Child/Adolescent Psychiatric-Mental Health Clinical Nurse Specialist with experience working with hospitals, schools, and community-based organizations on suicide prevention. Her research interests include prevention of suicide and co-occurring behaviors, program evaluation, and translation of research interventions to community-based settings.
*Dr. Walsh is also Forefront's affiliated faculty and research member


Special thanks to past and present graduate student interns:

​Liliya Shtikel (MSW Class of 2017)
Josephine Lau (MSIM, Class of 2017)
Matthew Newton (MA, Class of 2018)
Thomas Walton (Social Work, PhD student)
Austin Kinney (MPA, 2018​)
Liliya Shtikel (MSW Class of 2017)
Eric Burley (MPA, 2018)
Erin Harrop (Social Work, PhD student)
Caitlin LaVine (MSW Class of 2016)
Alexander Wood (MD Class of 2019)
Corey Kelman (MSW Class of 2014)
Mihae Jung (MSW Class of 2013)
Mike Koltz (MSW Class of 2013)
Angela Phillips (MSW Class of 2013)