University of Washington
Need help now?  Call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1.800.273.8255
Need Help Now? Call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. 1.800.273.8255

Expert List

Expert List

Forefront's staff and faculty affiliates can provide perspective, context and deeper understanding for reporting on suicide and mental health issues, as well as referrals to other experts and advocates. We also can connect you with Washington residents who have offered to share personal stories about the ways in which their lives have been affected by suicide.


Forefront Staff

Jennifer Stuber, PhD
Associate Professor, UW Social Work, Forefront Faculty Director

Public policy, stigma, personal loss experience

jstuber@uw.edu
206.543.1016

Shira Rosen, MSW
Director of School and Higher Education Programs

Suicide prevention, youth suicide, training

srosen3@uw.edu
206.221.2068

Matt Taylor, MA
Former Executive Director

Suicide prevention, schools, Native American communities, national perspective

matt.taylor3130@gmail.com
406.544.7305

Forefront Affiliated Faculty

Paul Quinnett, PhD
UW Clinical Assistant Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences; founder & CEO of QPR Institute​

Suicide prevention, treatment, training, Eastern Washington

pquinnett@mindspring.com
509-235-8823

Jim Mazza
UW Professor & Director of School Psychology, College of Education​

Youth suicide, schools

mazza@uw.edu
206-616-6373

Elizabeth McCauley, Ph.D.
UW Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences; Assoc. Director, Child Psychiatry & Behavioral Health, Seattle Children’s Hospital​

Youth depression. suicide prevention

eliz@u.washington.edu
206-987-2579

Randall Beam, PhD
UW Dart Endowed Professor Communication

Journalism, media ethics, reporting on trauma

rabeam@uw.edu
206-616-8975

 

Kate Comtois, PhD, MPH
UW Associate Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences​

Research, evidence-based mental health services and treatment for suicidality

comtois@uw.edu
206-897-4225

Elaine Walsh, PhD. RN
UW Assoc.  Prof. Psychosocial & Community Health, School of Nursing

integration of mental health and primary care

emwalsh@uw.edu

Taryn Lindhorst, PHD, LCSW
UW Associate Professor, School of Social Work​

Trauma and loss, bereavement

tarynlin@uw.edu
206-616-2152